Soroptimist header
HomeLink to projectsPublic SpeakingLink to conferences pageClub NewsLinksOfficersArchive / HistoryContact


Mildred O'Brien, Anna Brennan, & Rosalie Muir-Byrne.

Mildred O'Brien presenting the winner, Anna Brennan, with the Mildred O'Brien Perpetual Trophy, with Rosalie Muir-Byrne
President 2011.

Soroptimists’ Girls’ Public Speaking Competition – 2011

This was the 29th year of the competition and we were delighted to award to the winner of this year’s competition, Anna Brennan of the Ursuline Secondary School in Thurles, with the Mildred O’Brien Perpetual Trophy. This was inaugural year of the trophy and we were honoured to have Mildred there to present the trophy to Anna, who will be invited,  together with the winner of the Northern Ireland competition,  to speak at the joint North/South Conference in Portadown in May.

Anna’s topic was on the Environment – “There is a sufficiency in the world for man’s need, but not for man’s greed” (Mohandas K. Gandhi).

Mildred, born in Newry, Co Down,  has been a Soroptimist since 1975.  Elected National President in 1981, she and her counterpart in Northern Ireland Soroptimists, Marie Brownlee from Bangor, decided they wanted to come up with a joint project and hence the Girls’ Public Speaking competition was founded.

 The Final this year was a great success with the organisation being handled by the Mullingar Soroptimist Club and congratulations go to President Miriam and her club for their efforts.  

Anna Brennan with Soroptimist members
Soroptimist members with Anna Brennan


line Anna Brennan, winner 2011

Anna Brennan, 2011 winner of the Girls' Public Speaking Competition.

Winners 2010

Leanne Quinn, winner Republic of Ireland 2010 & Robyn Livingstone, winner Northern Ireland 2010.