Soroptimist header
HomeLink to projectsPublic SpeakingLink to conferences pageClub NewsLinksOfficersArchive / HistoryContact


Public Speaking Competition topics

Competition documents for download and printing: Adjudicators' notes >>

Application forms are sent directly to schools by  the  local club convenor.

The National Convenor,  Moya Murphy, will make the necessary contact with the local convenor on receipt of your  name and location.

E-mail Moya Murphy

National Final

Host Club




SI North Kildare Sunday 10th. March
2.00 pm
The K Club, Straffan, Co. Kildare Kitty Manzor
Regional Heats
SI Athlone Saturday 19th. January
2.00 pm
The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Athlone. Peggy Garvey
SI Ennis Sunday 20th. January
2.00 pm
The Old Ground Hotel, Ennis. Helen Hanrahan
SI Clonmel Saturday 26th. January
2.00 pm
The Clonmel Park Hotel, Clonmel Ann Condon
SI Wexford Sunday 3rd. February
2.00 pm
Riverbank Hotel, Wexford. Michele Winters

Regional Competitions Participants
Name School Club
Queensley Odidi St. Vincent's Secondary School, Dundalk SI Drogheda
Aine Winters St. Olivers's Community College, Drogheda SI Drogheda
Sophie Ray Wilson's Hospital, Multyfarnham SI Mullingar
Kerry Cassidy Castlepollard Community College SI Mullingar
Emily Dillon Athlone Community College SI Athlone
Clodagh Mosham Athlone Community College SI Athlone
Emma Pichot St. Raphaela's Secondary School, Stillorgan SI Dublin
Zainab Shahid Loreto Secondary School, Balbriggan SI Dublin
Wiame Kinane Colaiste Muire, Ennis SI Ennis
Mosope Omoniwa Colaiste Muire, Ennis SI Ennis
Katie O'Connell Sacred Heart Secondary School, Westport SI Castlebar
Sarah Sheridan Scoil Muire & Patraig, Swinford SI Castlebar
Laura Campion St. Mary's Secondary School, Ballina SI Ballina
Laurne Tuffy St. Mary's Secondary School, Ballina SI Ballina
Roisin McManus St. Clare's Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton SI Sligo
Rebecca Coyle St. Clare's Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton SI Sligo
Michaela Donnellan Presentation Convent, Tuam SI Ballinasloe
Alana Muiry Ard Scoil Mhuire Ballinasloe SI Ballinasloe
Charlotte Glynn Presentation School, Wexford SI Wexford
Alannah Hammal Colaiste an Atha, Kilmuckridge, Wexford SI Wexford
Libby Marchant St. Angela's Secondary School, Waterford City SI Dungarvan
Holly Rogan St. Angela's Secondary School, Waterford City SI Dungarvan
Grace Sandys Rathdown School, Glenageary SI Bray
Emilian Connolly St Gerard's School, Bray SI Bray
Sarah Murnane Newbridge College, Co. Kildare SI North Kildare
Sadie Byrne Piper's Hill, Naas SI North Kildare
Diamond Nzekwe St. Aloysius Secondary School, Cork SI Cork
Erin Quealey St. Mary's Secondary School, Charleville SI Cork
Megan Flood Villiers School, Limerick SI Limerick
Ceiti Ni Mhathune Laurel Hill Colaiste, Limerick SI Limerick
Georgia Breathnach Gael Scoil Cheitinn, Clonmel SI Clonmel
Victoria Cottrell Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles SI Clonmel
Kate Crowe Mercy Mounthawk Secondary School, Tralee SI Killarney
Erin Quealey St. Mary's Secondary School, Charleville, Cork SI Killarney
Lucy Gilmartin Colaiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon SI Bandon
Tola Ni Suilleabhain Sacred Heart Secondary School, Clonakilty SI Bandon

The Girls' Public Speaking Competition was established in 1981, jointly, by Soroptimist President Republic of Ireland, Mildred O’ Brien, and Soroptimist President, Northern Ireland, Marie Brownlee.

The aims of the competition are:i

  • To encourage girls to play a more prominent part in public life.
  • To improve the art of communication
  • To encourage girls to develop the skill to speak effectively and to articulate with clarity.
  • To develop self-confidence and personality.

Topics are based on the Programme Areas identified by Soroptimist International:

  • Economic Empowerment.
    Facebook icon Twitter icon
  • Education.
  • Environmental Sustainability.
  • Food Security and Healthcare.
  • Violence and Conflict Resolution.

Participants should be second level students in 4th., 5th., or 6th. year .

Mildred O'Brien perpetual trophy

Mildred O'Brien Perpetual Trophy.

Participants in the Public Speaking Local Heats being held throughout November 2018.

Winner of Public Speaking Competition 2017/8
Emily Moore, North Kildare.

Winner of Public Speaking Competition 2018

Hilary Lally, Marian Harkin MEP, Ballina President Marie Morris, National President Teresa Irwin, Dara Calleary T.D., Winner, Emily Moore N. KIldare, Moya Murphy, National Convenor and Darina Dolan, Vice President.

On 9th. February 2018 we celebrated our past winners of the Public Speaking Competition in the RDS, Dublin.

Entry form

Download entry form